Edit employee

Introduction

On the employee card, you edit an employee’s information and rights. It is also here you can manually activate and deactivate an employee’s access to TimeLog.

Description

To edit the employee’s information, you need to mouse over the different sections and click the pencil, which appears to the right.
All fields marked with * are mandatory and must be filled in, before you click Save.

You can edit five information groups:

  1. Personal information
  2. Organisational information
  3. Work time and salary information
  4. Contact information
  5. Licence and rights information

Personal information:

Here you can change the following:

  • First name(s) and Last name
  • User name, which is used when logging into TimeLog
  • Initials, which are used for employee selection and views in reports in TimeLog
  • Job title
  • The employee’s e-mail, which is used to send the activation e-mail and notifications from TimeLog

You may use the Comments field to add additional personal information.

Organisational information:

Here you can change the following:

  • Department, which is the department the employee is linked to, and thereby shown in the reporting
  • Legal entity, which must be the entity the employee is linked to, and thereby shown in the reporting (only available with Multiple Legal Entities)
  • Manager, which must be the manager, who should approve the employee’s time registrations and expenses. Here you can select to click Change manager and let a different manager take over the approval for a period, e.g. during vacation time
  • Employee ID, if it is activated in the system administration . Often used when creating reports through our APIs and for our salary integrations
  • Employee type, which is used to limit searches in several reports
  • Date of employment, which is important as the flex calculation for the employee starts on this date. You cannot track time on a date that lies before your date of employment
  • Date of resignation, if it is already known, e.g. fixed term employment relationships. The flex calculation ends after this date, but the employee is still able to log in. Mark Deactivate automatically on resignation date, if you want to close down the access to the system on the resignation date. Otherwise this needs to be done manually on the right site
  • Default hourly rate for customers, which is the selected default price for the employee, and it will be suggested when allocating him/her to project tasks
  • Internal cost, which is used to calculate the cost on time & material and is shown in e.g. project totals and reports. Each employee can only be assigned one internal cost.
  • OIO ID, which is shown, if OIOXML (e-invoicing) is activated in the System administration.

Work time and salary information:

Here you can change the following:

  • Public holiday calendar, which is used in the employee’s timesheet and in the resource planning
  • Allowance legislation, which is used when entered travel expenses, if it is activated in the system administration
  • Normal working time, which forms the basis of the employee’s flex calculation. Here you can select from which date the new normal working time should take effect. You can see the changes in the log, when you click the Change normal working time button
  • Salary group, if it is activated in the system administration. Here you select which salary codes the employee should see in the timesheet.
  • Pay period determines which pay period the employee should belong to, e.g. per month or every 14 days. You need to enable Advanced salary time administration in the system administration to be able to select a different pay period on the employee cards and in reports that filter on pay period

Personal contact information:

This information comes from the employee’s personal profile, and you will here see the personal address, phone numbers and e.g. link to social media such as Facebook and LinkedIn.

Licence and rights:

To the right, you manage the employee’s access to the system.

Use the slider to activate or deactivate the employee. The deactivation closes all access to TimeLog down, and deactivates the employee in all resource groups on the project. This means that if you wish to reactivate the employee, (s)he needs to be allocated to the projects again by reactivating him/her in the resource group and on the single tasks.

If you activate an employee, you get the opportunity to send an activation e-mail to him/her.

Resend activation e-mail is primarily used to send access information to new employees, but can also be used for a reset, if an employee forgets his or her password.

Under Access to extensions, you select or change if the employee has access to add on modules such as TimeLog Tracker for Outlook.

Under Roles, you select the roles to assign to the employee. Roles define which reports and functionalities the employee has access to and can edit in the system administration. The action menu to the right of the role name among other things contain a shortcut to roles in the system administration.

Special remarks

Please note that you may not see all of the above mentioned information. It depends on your version of TimeLog and your add on modules, and thereby which functionality and processes you have access to.

Please note that you cannot deactivate an employee, which is marked as the last TimeLog responsible under My account. You must select a new TimeLog responsible before you can deactivate the employee.

You are always welcome to contact info@timelog.com, if you have questions to your subscription.

Last updated 16 Jun 2020